2024 Sustainability Award

This award honours an individual or organization demonstrating outstanding initiative, leadership and accomplishment in protecting and preserving the natural environment and/or in establishing good community relations during an exploration program or operation of a mine.


O3 Mining


For exceptional Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) performance including the achievement of ECOLOGO Certification.


Since its inception in 2019, O3 Mining has continually enhanced its environmental, social, and governance (ESG) practices. In 2022 alone, the company invested $2.3 million towards implementing best practices that exceed regulatory mandates. Showcasing its commitment to responsible project development, O3 Mining became one of the first exploration companies certified by Underwriters Laboratories of Canada (UL 2723 ECOLOGO Certification Program for Mineral Exploration Companies).

O3 Mining's approach transcends both standard regulations and ECOLOGO certification criteria. For instance, it provides superior protection to water banks beyond regulatory standards and mandates the use of biodegradable oils in all heavy machinery on sites, not just drilling equipment as stipulated by the certification. Recognizing the critical role of social acceptability in project advancement, the company embraces a participatory strategy that employs various tools to foster open dialogue and feedback from all stakeholders, ensuring a cohesive coexistence.

To underscore its commitment to responsible exploration, O3 Mining created a dedicated sustainable development department. This proactive team's primary role is to ensure the consistent application of ESG best practices across the company. Additionally, there's a Sustainable Development Committee within the Board of Directors to aid the Board in overseeing matters related to health and safety, environment, community interactions, and human resources.

View each PDAC 2024 Award Recipient


Bill Dennis Award

John Burzynski and the Osisko Mining Inc. Exploration Team


Skookum Jim Award

Wabun Tribal Council


Thayer Lindsley Award

The Lundin Group Vicuña Exploration Team


Viola R. MacMillan Award

John McConnell and the Victoria Gold Corporation Team