PDAC eLearning Series — Exclusive for PDAC Members

What does sustainability have to do with mineral exploration?  

DATE:  Wednesday, December 9, 2020
TIME:  12:00 PM - 1:00 PM EST
(11:00 AM CST | 10:00 AM MST | 9:00 AM PST) 
COST:  Free for Members


OVERVIEW

The presentation will take attendees through a journey about sustainability and exploration, starting with the impact of sustainability on mining, the environmental, social and governance (ESG) risks to be aware of, COVID-19 and other challenges with a focus on Community Relations, which can be a showstopper for exploration and mining.

The presentation will explore investor considerations for exploration and mining, and tips on how to prepare for potential investors and buyers from an ESG perspective. The presentation will conclude with a discussion on what a sustainability-minded exploration company looks like and how to begin that journey to sustainability.

PRESENTER

BillMcGuinty-Photo_500x500
Sabrina Dias Logo

Sabrina Dias
Founder & CEO 
SOOP Strategies

Sabrina Dias is the Founder & CEO of SOOP Strategies Inc., a successful mining and sustainability consulting firm. An expert in the field, Sabrina has recently authored and published the industry handbook “Integrating Sustainability into Major Project: Best Practices and Tools for Project Teams”.

With 20 years experience, Sabrina is a field expert with a passion for ESG (environment, social and governance) strategy and stakeholder engagement. She has extensive international experience including Northern Canada, South America, Pacific Islands, Madagascar, Tanzania, and the USA. Sabrina is a Licensed Professional Engineer with Ontario, has a Master’s in Environmental Studies (York University) and a Graduate Diploma in Business and the Environment (Schulich School of Business). She is a founding Board member of the Circular Mining Association and an Advisory Board member of Newton Minerals, Canadian non-profit sustainable mineral development agency.