Press Releases

The latest news and information from PDAC, and Canada's mineral exploration and mining industry.

December 2, 2020: PDAC 2021 Awards Honour Industry Leaders

Toronto (December 2, 2020) – PDAC is excited to announce that six top international and domestic performers have been selected in recognition of their excellence.

Now in its 43rd year, the annual PDAC Awards showcase exceptional leaders in the mineral exploration and mining industry. Recipients will be celebrated at the Awards Gala during the virtual PDAC 2021 Convention.

Congratulations to PDAC 2021 Award Recipients for their outstanding accomplishments.

  • Bill Dennis Award: Phillip Walford & Sherry Dunsworth

    For the discovery and delineation of Valentine, the largest undeveloped gold resource in Atlantic Canada.

  • Distinguished Service Award: Dennis Jones

    For his contribution to sustainability in the mineral exploration sector through strong leadership of PDAC’s e3 and e3 Plus initiatives as well as ongoing CSR efforts.

  • Skookum Jim Award: Nalaine Morin

    For combining Indigenous traditional knowledge with Western science to improve the environmental assessment process for mining projects.

  • Sustainability Award: B2Gold

    For exemplary resettlement and community development work with the village of Fadougou at the Fekola gold mine in Mali.

  • Thayer Lindsley Award: K92 Mining

    For the 2017 discovery of the Kora North deposit at the Kainantu mine in Papua New Guinea.

  • Viola R. MacMillan Award: Mark O’Dea

For building and financing several international mining companies, taking them from exploration and discovery to development and operations.

PDAC’s Board of Directors select recipients based on recommendations of the association’s Awards Committee. More information about the 2021 Award Recipients is available on our website.