We are excited to introduce recipients in seven categories for the PDAC 2018 Awards. These top international and domestic performers will be honoured with a prestigious award in recognition of their excellence and contributions to the mineral exploration and mining industry.

Recipients are celebrated at an Awards Gala & After Party at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, during the annual PDAC Convention in Toronto. 

The PDAC Board of Directors selects recipients based on recommendations of the Awards Committee. To learn more about the selection process, see the selection criteria

Learn more about the PDAC 2018 Award recipients and their stories below.

Awards Gala & After Party

Celebrate the industry's finest with a three-course dinner, fine wine and live music. The Awards Gala & After Party is where individuals and companies are acknowledged for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the mineral exploration and mining industry.

NexGen Energy Ltd.

Bill Dennis Award

This award, named for a former president of the association, honours an individual or team of explorationists who have accomplished one or both of the following: made a significant mineral discovery; made an important contribution to the prospecting and/or exploration industry. 

Ted Reeve

Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes an individual who has achieved one or more of the following: made a substantial contribution to mineral exploration and mining development over a number of years; given considerable time and effort to the PDAC; made outstanding contributions to the mineral industry in the field of finance, geology, geophysics, geochemistry research, or a related activity.

Golden Star Resources

Environmental & Social Responsibility Award

This award honours an individual or organization demonstrating outstanding initiative, leadership and accomplishment in protecting and preserving the natural environment and/or in establishing good community relations during an exploration program or operation of a mine.

Lana Eagle

Skookum Jim Award

Recipients of this award have demonstrated exceptional achievement and/or service in a Canadian Aboriginal-run service business for the Canadian mining industry or a Canadian Aboriginal exploration or mining company, or have made a significant individual contribution to the mining industry.

Jean Descarreaux

Special Achievement Award

From time to time, PDAC presents a Special Achievement Award that recognizes exceptional contributions to the mineral industry.

Don Taylor, Arizona Mining Inc.

Thayer Lindsley Award

This award recognizes an individual or a team of explorationists credited with a recent significant mineral discovery anywhere in the world.

IAMGOLD Corporation and Sumitomo Metal Mining Co., Ltd.

Viola R. MacMillan Award

This award, which is named in honour of PDAC’s longest serving president, is given to an individual or organization demonstrating leadership in management and financing for the exploration and development of mineral resources.