Honouring Excellence

PDAC's Awards Committee is a way for outstanding contributors in the Canadian and international mineral exploration and mining community to be recognized and honoured. The Committee is made up of industry leaders with a variety of different roles, skills, experience, and important professional networks.

Dating back to 1977, PDAC Awards are a way to acknowledge exceptional performers in up to seven categories. Award recipients are celebrated at a prestigious ceremony in Toronto every year, held during the annual PDAC Convention in March. 

As one of four major sponsors of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, PDAC also submits three nominations to be considered for induction each year.

PDAC 2018 Awards

Nominations are now closed.


2017 Award Recipients

Meet the recipients in seven categories for the PDAC 2017 Awards. These top performers were honoured with a prestigious award in recognition of their excellence at the PDAC Awards Gala on March 7.

Canadian Mining Hall of Fame

The legacy of legendary mine finders and those who built the industry are remembered forever through the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame. PDAC can submit up to three nominations a year for induction. External nominations that meet the selection criteria are welcome, and should be sent to: Mr. Rod Thomas, Chairman, Awards Committee, PDAC, 135 King St. E, Toronto, M5C 1G6.


Honorary Life Members

Appointed by the PDAC President, Honorary Life Members are recognized for their dedication and outstanding service to the association. See the list of those who made it so far!

Picture of an award

Past Award Recipients

PDAC Awards date back to 1977 when the first Bill Dennis Award for prospecting success was presented. Take a look at the recipients, broken into award categories, from over the years.

Student Awards

Mary-Claire Ward Geoscience Award
Awarded annually to a graduate student at a Canadian university whose thesis incorporates geoscience mapping as a significant component.

Other Student Awards & Bursaries
Visit the PDAC Student section for information about other student awards and bursaries.

Video Player thumbnail

Videos of Award Recipients

Award recipients are honoured with a personal video that captures the journey of their story. The videos are insightful and explain how and why the individual or company was selected as the recipient.